STRIPER SOUP Forum Index STRIPER SOUP

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Striper Bait questions

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Etter1
1 more, I've got Four

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:15 pm    Post subject: Striper Bait questions Reply with quote

First off, I'm very new at this. I realise that hand size gizzard shad are probably the best striper bait I could get this time of year, but the baitfish in Allatoona are all really small due to the huge winter kill. I can catch a dozen or so hand sized and down bream in about an hour or so on worms.

Do you prefer bream to jumbo shiners? Most people I have spoken with definitely do. Do you cut the dorsal fins off your bream? Are spot tails big enough for striper bait? I can definitely cast net a bunch of them. I'm not getting bit much. Lost a monster last weekend on a really big bream and am addicted to the hunt now.

Finally, do you go where you suspect the fish to be and then drop lines or do you wait until you're directly on top of them to drop down.

So far I've only been fishing two lines, but I'm about to attach two more rod holders to my boat so I can put baits at more depths. Thanks so much.
SeeinStripes
Striper Soup Chef
Striper Soup Chef

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:56 pm    Post subject: Allatoona stripes Reply with quote

You need to be around fish. They usually hang around bait. Without a good depthfinder on the right settings, it's pretty hard to chase the deep fish this time of year. The hybes will come up and show themselves in the morning and perhaps in the evening, but they won't stay up long until it cools off a little. Last August/September was awesome for breaking fish out there.